MY BAD!!!!!

My Bad

I’ve actually had a lot of things to talk about- from my awesome trip down to LA, all the way to knowing when it’s finals time in my house. Then there’s always work related shizzz, wedding insanity, and fitness overload. And let’s NOT forget that we’ve given up eating beef in our home…which leaves PORK as the granddaddy of all daddies! WOOT!!

Well then, I should say that LA was absolutely fantastic, minus the lame weather. But the company could not have been any better, mostly because of the tiniest member of our clan, who graced our reunion with coos, lalalalalahs, leg kicks, big blinks, adorable clothing options, and let’s not forget projectile vomit (only his Mom was nailed, but it was a spectacular effort on his part!). To see such good friends living their normal lives, with the only addition being that one or the other was toting around a little bowling ball of love made me feel overwhelmed with love and joy, and a lot of hope that my own little family could even be half as adorable.

I was in desparate need of a vacation, more so than I could even say. So to fly down there and do NOTHING but eat, sleep, and drink was too much goodness for on lady. I shared my blow up mattress with not one, but TWO hot ladies in the 48 hours I was LALA bound, and made new lady friends over countless bottles of fantastico wine, pork skewers, and tale telling. God, I love friends, I love eating, and I love sleeping. SO GOOD.

The highlight had to be when little man and I wore matching striped hoodies and overalls…if he weren’t so light I would have tried to pass him off as my own, but his cherub look only contrasts dramatically to my darker vibe. We’ll just be best friends instead.

Upon returning home, it was like to an ALMOST finished war zone, remnants everywhere of scattered bodies (ie papers), discarded ammo (plates, cups, beer cans), and ravaged countryside (sleeping on couch, guest room, and bedroom including a mix of clean and dirty laundry in piles like land mines). But what really clued me in that Roy was in the last half hour of his entire credential program was the fact that he was the playing one song on repeat all…night…long.

The first time I went through this, it was a Train song that I cannot, to this day, hear or I’ll have a straight up mental breakdown. This time it’s Fun, “We Are Young”.

Here are the lyrics in case you didn’t have them BURNED INTO YOUR FREAKING BRAIN!!

Give me a second I,
I need to get my story straight
My friends are in the bathroom getting higher than the Empire State
My lover she’s waiting for me just across the bar
My seat’s been taken by some sunglasses asking bout a scar, and
I know I gave it to you months ago
I know you’re trying to forget
But between the drinks and subtle things
The holes in my apologies, you know
I’m trying hard to take it back
So if by the time the bar closes
And you feel like falling down
I’ll carry you home

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Now I know that I’m not
All that you got
I guess that I, I just thought
Maybe we could find new ways to fall apart
But our friends are back
So let’s raise a toast
‘Cause I found someone to carry me home

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Carry me home tonight (Nananananana)
Just carry me home tonight (Nananananana)
Carry me home tonight (Nananananana)
Just carry me home tonight (Nananananana)

The world is on my side
I have no reason to run
So will someone come and carry me home tonight
The angels never arrived
But I can hear the choir
So will someone come and carry me home

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

Tonight
We are young
So let’s set the world on fire
We can burn brighter than the sun

So if by the time the bar closes
And you feel like falling down
I’ll carry you home tonight

So, even though I closed our bedroom door, put my head underneath the pillow and wrapped Rusty around my face like noise cancelling earphones, all day today I’ve been humming, “Toniiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight, Weeeee areeee youngggggg” and I want to die.

He finished his project this morning at 3AM.

Ahhhh, I shall enjoy sweet, sweet silence tonight…I hope.

But in brief, everything else is going well. Work really is just work, I don’t want to say more about it because then I have to think about it. Wedding is moving along really well, actually, spending more mula than he “should” but what a fun event it’s going to be. I’m actually really excited. And I’m 11 pounds lighter than I was 8 months or so ago, and feeling prêt-ty powerful, if I do say so myself. If y’all decide you want to get tickets to the gun show, just email Roy and he’ll make you a sweet deal.

Here’s to more writing, less bitching, more mindfulness, less hate, and more babies, less….not more babies….

20120503-141927.jpg

Leave a Reply

